Memento Mori (Poem By A Post Abortive Sibling)

half past three

she appeared to me

like the ghost in my nightmare

forewarning the doom

abound the stillness

of a memory

that sleeps, but rests not.

disguised like an angel

with the purity of all intentions

must I dare to question

the bearer of the seed

or the womb that succumbed

to breed

conceived out of compromise

she coiled the cord around the baby’s neck

mourned her early demise

but the child isn’t gone

I said a little prayer

from her shallow grave

I set her free

I am her waking memory.

 

~ beautifulbruises©2012, RochelleVillaflor

 

 

Leave a Reply

