Email To An Abortion Minded Woman

I just wrote this email, and am sharing it here, as it’s a mini reflection. Also, it might help someone coming to my page who is going through similar, unbeknownst to me:

Hi, my name is Renee, and I was just given your email address, from Sarah. I am honored that you were willing to have her share it with me and others. ❤ I know very little of your story, but wanted you to know that no matter what you end up doing, you will all be in my thoughts and prayers. Especially because I, personally, have been affected by abortion. I did not have one, but lost my youngest brother (baby number 5) to it 😦 My mom was recently widowed (less than 7 months) and accidentally ended up pregnant. She wanted this baby, but at the same time was very overwhelmed, being 31 with 4 kids (2,4,8 and 10). Plus, she didn’t feel the baby would be welcomed, etc. So at 7 weeks, he was aborted.  My siblings and I found out about it almost 11 years later. It brought much pain, especially because we always knew her to be pro life and against abortion. But we still love her very much, and try to protect her from harsh comments. Our relationship was not too strained, but I did start to really wonder why I, who was also unplanned, was saved, and not him. Also, one of the hardest things for me to handle about this whole thing, is the fact that I was there when mom was pregnant and had no idea!! I hugged her AND my brother, never sensing him. I worry that I might’ve made her life more stressful (as I was dealing with issues from my dad’s death still). Could I have helped her, and saved my brother in the process? I’ve come to discover that other ‘older’ siblings, have dealt with the same guilt, confusion, etc. Plus, I have a hard time seeing the 4th baby, as the youngest, which I knew him as for so many years. But I can’t just go telling everyone about the actual youngest. : / I have made a lot of progress in these areas, but am thankful for the pain, in a sense, because it opened my eyes to the pain of the abortion minded and post abortive families. I never realized before, how painful abortion was on siblings, and how little is available for us, in terms of healing resources. Among other things, I have created a blog, to share what I have learned, and would like to share with you a few links from there. 1) An open letter I wrote to the abortion minded/post abortive, 2) a post about not condemning the abortion minded, 3) My mom’s testimony, 4) a link to the section with my reflections about my loss, and 5) a link to the testimonies of other siblings. https://survivingsibling.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/what-i-a-post-abortive-sibling-wanna-say-to-the-abortion-mindedpost-abortive-parents/ https://survivingsibling.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/a-mile-in-their-shoes/ https://survivingsibling.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/my-mom-shares-her-story/ https://survivingsibling.wordpress.com/category/my-reflections/ https://survivingsibling.wordpress.com/category/post-abortive-testimonies/siblings/

I hope these help you some. As I said, you will all be in my thoughts and prayers. Let me know if I can help you further, even if just to listen to your story or whatever. Peace be with you. Hugs, Renee

Leave a Reply

