Older Sister Writes A Letter To Her Aborted Sibling

Recently I received a message on my facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AbortionHurtsSiblingsAndOthers from a grieving sibling. In it she shared with me a very powerful and touching letter, which I can relate to in some ways. In her kindness and strength, she gave me permission to share it here, for which I am very thankful. May it touch all who read it as deeply as it touched me.
Dear Small One, God knit you together in our Mother’s womb in a way that was so perfect and so divine. I wish that I would have had a chance to know you, to love you. Would you have been my Sister who I could whisper all of my secrets to? Would you have been my brother, bold and protective? Would you have red hair and freckles like me? I miss all of the fun that we could have had together. I am sure that we could have spent many hours playing make believe and learning to ride bikes together. I am sure that I would have never been quite so afraid during thunderstorms. You would have been younger than me, there are so many things that I could have taught you. Where would we be today, as adults, would we be raising our children together? I pray for you often. I cry sometimes too, when I think of everything that you could have been. What would it have been like to not grow up so utterly alone? I pray that in some small way you were able to exercise your free will to love God. Perhaps you heard our Grandmother speak of his love. I hope that your death was not too painful. I wish I could have protected you from that. There have been times that I wish it had been me and that you could have lived. I have felt like it was my fault; if she had not had me perhaps you would have had a chance. But, I try to focus on eternity. Someday we will frolic together in the glory of heaven, I am sure of it. We will have to make up for lost time. Forgive our Mother, it has taken me some time too. As for me, I will not rest on this Earth until I see an end to this murderous nonsense that stole you away from me before I even got to hold your hand. I love you small one and I will see you soon. Love, Your Big Sister
Jeremiah 1:4-5 Now the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

4 thoughts on “Older Sister Writes A Letter To Her Aborted Sibling

  1. I’m crying from saddness and from finding a place where my pain is acknowledged. My mother told me about a year ago (I am 29) that she had an abortion when I was 11 years old. I grew up an only child. I am terribly sad that my sibling was aborted. She was 14 weeks.

  2. This touched my heart so much, it was if I could have wrote it myself! My sibling would have been 4 years older than me. I just found out last year (I’m now 34 years old) that my mom had an abortion, and it was actually something she never wanted me to find out. I am an only child and was raised by my mom. It absolutely has TORN me to pieces that my mom hid it from me and planned to take it to her grave. Despite her being now pro-life, she cannot seem to tell me she is sorry or even act remorseful….and I am completely perplexed and baffled by it. It has driven a giant rift between us as she feels it is “none of my business”. I could use prayers and comfort from others who have walked this road, it is a horrible road to walk…

    • Oh Megan, I am so very sorry for your loss 😦 As well as the tension now between you and your mom. You shall be in my prayers and I wish you much comfort. If you are on facebook, you can be added to a ‘secret’ group with other sibs, quite a few who are also only children. Just send a message to me at the facebook PAGE ‘Abortion Hurts Siblings And Others’. If not, and you still want to be in touch we can make other arrangements.
      I am glad that you reached out and pray this ultimately leads to peace and healing

Leave a comment