Older Sister Writes A Letter To Her Aborted Sibling

Recently I received a message on my facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AbortionHurtsSiblingsAndOthers from a grieving sibling. In it she shared with me a very powerful and touching letter, which I can relate to in some ways. In her kindness and strength, she gave me permission to share it here, for which I am very thankful. May it touch all who read it as deeply as it touched me.
Dear Small One, God knit you together in our Mother’s womb in a way that was so perfect and so divine. I wish that I would have had a chance to know you, to love you. Would you have been my Sister who I could whisper all of my secrets to? Would you have been my brother, bold and protective? Would you have red hair and freckles like me? I miss all of the fun that we could have had together. I am sure that we could have spent many hours playing make believe and learning to ride bikes together. I am sure that I would have never been quite so afraid during thunderstorms. You would have been younger than me, there are so many things that I could have taught you. Where would we be today, as adults, would we be raising our children together? I pray for you often. I cry sometimes too, when I think of everything that you could have been. What would it have been like to not grow up so utterly alone? I pray that in some small way you were able to exercise your free will to love God. Perhaps you heard our Grandmother speak of his love. I hope that your death was not too painful. I wish I could have protected you from that. There have been times that I wish it had been me and that you could have lived. I have felt like it was my fault; if she had not had me perhaps you would have had a chance. But, I try to focus on eternity. Someday we will frolic together in the glory of heaven, I am sure of it. We will have to make up for lost time. Forgive our Mother, it has taken me some time too. As for me, I will not rest on this Earth until I see an end to this murderous nonsense that stole you away from me before I even got to hold your hand. I love you small one and I will see you soon. Love, Your Big Sister
Jeremiah 1:4-5 Now the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”
Leave a Reply

